21st Walter H. Butler Golf Classic

21st Walter H. Butler Golf Classic

November 19, 2016

The Breakers Ocean Course, Palm Beach

Chairmen: Matt Smith & Stephen Smith

Committee Members

Ben Alexander, Matti Anttila, Dan Cohn, Jackie Delgado, Tom Forrest, Chris Goldberg, Matthias Gronberg, Roger Janssen, Joel Kassewitz, Melissa Knight, Brian Kosoy, Sofia Maduro, Joe McGivney, Tim Mullen, Ryan Munder, Peter Nicoletti, Phatavanh Olsen, Anand Patel, Todd Savage, Trey Sned, Kellie Stenzel Stigliano, Chris Storkerson, and Leslie Wytrzes

Twenty foursomes arrived at The Breakers Ocean Course for a shamble start at 8:30 a.m. on a picture perfect Saturday to compete for the coveted Walter H. Butler Trophy and additional prizes including Men’s Flight Division, Mixed Flight Division, Student Flight Division, Closest to the Pin, and Longest Drive. Individual awards were given to men, women, and student players. Added excitement prior to the start of the classic was a chance for one player to hit a golf ball from 165 yards for a chance at a million dollars. This year’s opportunity went to Gerard Stigliano. Six students participated in this year’s tournament, which was chaired by Matt Smith and Steve Smith. More than $60,000 was raised for Palm Beach Day Academy’s educational programs.

The weekend began Friday evening with the Croquet & Cocktails Party held this year at the National Croquet Center in West Palm Beach. Golfers, PBDA Parents, Trustees, Alumni, Faculty, and special friends gathered together for a night of festivities including a closest to the wicket contest and silent auction.


The overall grand tournament winner included the team of Peter Nicoletti, Tim Mullen, Michael Semler, and David Ghirardini. Men’s Flight Division winner included the team of Ben Alexander, Jeb McCracken, Hunter Beebe, and Winston Wren, with husband - wife team Gerard and Kellie Stigliano, Mike Curcio, and Christopher Goldberg winning the Mixed Flight Division, and Lee Munder, Ryan Munder, Adam Munder, and RJ Munder winning the Student Division. Second place recognition went to Matt Smith, Joel Kassewitz, Doug Luce, and Jeff Smith in the Men’s Flight Division, with husband – wife team Wayne and Leslie Wytrzes, Janet James and Polly Wuslin in the Mixed Flight Division, and Anand Patel, Dhru Patel, Hampton Beebe, and John Stewart in the Student Division. Closest to the Pin winners were John Stewart, Bridget Koch, and Lauren Susick. Longest Drive winners were Ryan Munder, Kellie Stigliano, and RJ Munder.


Major Sponsors of this year’s Golf Classic included Kajaine Capital, Shoes For Crews, Austin and Steve Smith, Sterling Organization, The Breakers Palm Beach, SCS Financial, and The Atwood Group – Merrill Lynch.


The 22nd Walter H. Butler Golf Classic will be held November 18th at The Breakers Ocean Course, Palm Beach. For further information about sponsorship and player opportunities, please contact Paula Martin at 561-655-1188 extension 125 or