The story of PBDA is as unique as the history of our town of Palm Beach. Our school has maintained academic excellence for generations, cultivating deep traditions that alumni value so much that they enroll their own children to carry them on. Our school continues to change as it always has to meet the challenges of changing trends in education, society, and technology, but we remain what we have always been — a family.
Click each photo below to view captions and to see additional timeline photos.
Palm Beach Day Academy was established in 1921 as two separate schools: The Palm Beach School for Girls and The Palm Beach School for Boys.
In 1930, the two schools merged to form Palm Beach Private School.
The annual Field Day event was established in 1931 with Pelican Captains Alice Wyeth and Wiley R. Reynolds, Jr., while Flamingo Captains were Marie Bassett and Frank Quigley.
In 1959, the Matthews Auditorium was built with support from Mrs. Jean Flagler Matthews in honor of her three sons: George, Robert and William Matthews.
In 1965, Palm Beach Private School became Palm Beach Day School and Walter H. Butler Jr. began his 23-year tenure as Headmaster of Palm Beach Day School.
The school broke ground on the construction of the Wean Library in 1970 with support of the Raymond J. Wean Foundation.
The school for young children was established in 1981 under the direction of Barbara Durrer. Founding Directors were Mr. & Mrs. H. Loy Anderson, Mr. & Mrs. Murray Goodman, Mr. & Mrs. Murray Goodman, Mr. & Mrs. A. Faxon Henderson, and Mr. & Mrs. John F. Koons.
In 1995, the school became the Academy of the Palm Beaches.
The foundation of our program is the education of our students in an academically challenging and compassion-rich environment that guides each child toward personal excellence of mind, body and character.