Get Involved as a Parent

Palm Beach Day Academy is a true family school.

Parents are welcome on campus, and in classrooms, any day at any time. Their presence is particularly encouraged at Friday flag assemblies and other school events, including our annual Field Day.

PBDA teachers consider PBDA parents to be equal, valued partners in a child’s education, because family involvement not only maintains the high standards of the school, but also provides rewarding experiences for children and parents.

Parent School Council (PSC)

Parents are invited to show their support through participation in PBDA’s Parent School Council. All parents of enrolled students are members, and there are no dues.

The mission of the council is two-fold: fostering communication among constituents of the school community and serving the school in non-academic functions, which are always family affairs.

PSC Officers ’20-’21

TitleOfficerEmail
PresidentChristina Macfarland ’98christinamacfarland@gmail.com
Vice President (Lower)Gabrielle Brultegbbrulte@gmail.com
Vice President (Upper)Linda Soperlinda@lindalanemarketing.com
Programs ChairElizabeth DeBruleelizabethdebrule@icloud.com
Programs Vice-Chair (Lower)Sarah Templesrhtemple@comcast.net
Programs Vice-Chair (Lower)Carmen Sosincarmenglover@hotmail.com
Parent Representative (Pre-Primary and Primary)Luz Heineluzenid.heine@gmail.com
Parent Representative (K-3)Kate Berrykdaigh@gmail.com
Parent Representative (Upper)Valerie Frostvaleriefrost@me.com
Head of SchoolFanning Hearonfhearon@pbday.org
Past PresidentLyanne Azqueta ’84la@mirdr.org
Board of Trustees LiaisonCaroline Raffertycarolinecrafferty@gmail.com
Faculty Liaison (Lower)Ilkay Ozgenciozgenc@pbday.org
Faculty Liaison (Lower)Jim Gramentinejgramentine@pbday.org

Notes from Recent PSC Meetings

Get Involved at PBDA

Volunteerism is a longstanding tradition at Palm Beach Day Academy, and there is an opportunity for every parent to get involved.

Room Parent

Room Parents work with the PSC and Advancement team to help disseminate pertinent school and grade information to each classroom.

Volunteer From Home

Some parents are eager to give their time but are only able to do so from home and as their schedule permits. This allows flexibility for those who want to help.

Lower Campus Special Events Committee

Members of this committee set up, clean up and organize refreshments for the International Day of Peace assembly and Hatching Ceremony in September, the Halloween Parade in October,  Veterans Day Ceremony in November, Hanukkah Parade in December, and International Day of Performance in February.

Book Fair Committee

Volunteers for the week-long PBDA Book Fair help to plan, set up, work the fair, and pack up.

Lower Campus Grandparents and Special Friends Day Committee

Volunteers organize coffee/refreshments, direct traffic, and coordinate other activities for this annual tradition that takes place on the Lower Campus in April and invites students’ grandparents and special friends to attend a presentation and morning in their classroom.

Teacher Appreciation Week Committee

This week-long event takes place the first week of May, and the committee makes sure this is a special week for teachers across both campuses.